Tags

, ,

Not a lot to do with my trees this time of year, so I spent some time just looking and thinking this morning. The subject? This Autumn Olive, Elaeagnus umbellata, collected early this past spring, and shown here in summer with strong growth. 


Since it recovered so quickly, I plan to get it out of this plastic nursery pot (and the poor-draining soil that fills it) and into a training box with a better growing medium this spring… but at what angle? 

The possibilities below use nearly the same front. I don’t think the opposite side has as much potential as a front, but regardless, I need to get the tree standing in one way or another. Right now, as you can see from the angle of the pot, the whole thing just leans backwards, no doubt because it just fit in the pot that way. 


I won’t worry too much about this as this is very early in the tree’s design. I will get it in a box and begin developing branches over the next few years. It has a long way to go, but I think that trunk has potential!

