Tags

, , ,

This is the second time in as many weeks I have made a Pirates of the Caribbean reference in a blog post. You can check out the first one HERE. I don’t know what that means, but since I haven’t had a chance to discuss it with my therapist yet, let’s talk about bonsai… and figure out what it’s got to do with pirates. 

I finally got around to bringing this little guy home from my office window to spend some time outside this summer. 


Not so little is it! But do you see how tiny that pot is!? This Ficus Microcarpa has done really well in that office window over the past 7 months or so. 

As I walked out of the office with it this afternoon, I suggested to one of my colleagues that I should take bets on how tall it will be when it comes back in the fall. Not to suggest it would be taller… quite the contrary. 

You see, I like to let my ficus get hot and happy in the summer sun, and just as they start to show signs that they are going to push a bunch of new summer growth, I do whatever heavy work is needed: pruning, repotting, wiring… the works if necessary. In my experience, this approach results in a quick recovery time and gives the tree more than enough time to grow out before they need to come back inside in late fall. 

My colleague made a face that bonsai folks know very well. You know the one. The face that suggests we are cruel to our trees. 

She searched for the words… “it’s like you are castrating it.” Queue Captain Jack. 

https://youtu.be/dRE4cs4AEhk
The quote that popped immediately to mind is at around :50 in the video above. But those of you who know Jack, know that he has a bit of an obsession with Eunuchs. (And those who don’t know Jack… Well…)

Here are some other selections:

You’re not a eunuch are you?

Lovely singing voice though. Eunuch.

If only she knew! It is, in fact, my intent to gradually develop a very manly tree indeed! And maybe it will have a lovely singing voice as well. We will all have to wait and see. 

And speaking of wait and see, let’s hear your votes. How tall will it be after I work on it later this summer? Here’s a closer shot with a ruler to help you out:


I will make sure to share the work I do when that time comes. 

