Tags

, , , ,

It has been an honor to serve as president of the Northern Virginia Bonsai Society (NVBS) for the past 5 years. I didn’t plan to serve in the role this long but there was a bit of a disruption in 2020. We had to shut down for a short time but with the help and enthusiasm from NVBS members and board we found a way to continue learning together, and this year we were finally poised for an election after some time back to fully in-person meetings.

But this post isn’t about the pandemic. This is about the next chapter. A new NVBS President was elected this fall (Congratulations, Roberto!) and he is taking over officially at the start of the new year. I will continue to serve as past president, but expect to have a little more time to get back to my trees and perhaps even writing about them here.

Perhaps I shouldn’t get too far ahead of myself though. I did manage to find myself in another leadership role even before my NVBS replacement was named. For the next two years I will serve as president of the Potomac Bonsai Association — the parent organization of NVBS and a few other clubs in the mid-Atlantic Region of the U.S.

You might think I’m a glutton for punishment, but it’s not that. It’s just that I realize the existence and vibrancy of 50+ year old clubs like these only happens when there are people who are willing to step up and take a turn serving them.

Yamaki Pine, image from bonsai-NBF.org

I am reminded of the Yamaki Pine at the U.S. National Bonsai and Penjing Museum. Those who are familiar know it’s not the most amazing bonsai, but what it lacks in design it makes up for in age and history. Being a survivor of the Hiroshima bombing is enough to give it significant fame but whenever I visit this tree I think about the fact that some person has been responsible for its care for the nearly 400 years it has been grown in a pot. Some person has had to water, fertilize, and maintain this tree… every day! That’s like 145,000 days! What would have happened if no one was willing to take over its care when the previous caretaker was no longer able?

Our bonsai organizations need tending as well. If you enjoy the benefits of a bonsai club or society, volunteer to help whenever you can and seriously consider serving as an officer. Each of us can take our turn and continue to maintain the rich traditions and organizations in our region.

Thank you to all who serve their clubs in any capacity. Thanks to those who served NVBS and PBA before me and with me, and thanks to those who will care for them in the future. Sometimes it’s hard work, but it’s worth it!