Tags

, , , , , ,

So, you’ve discovered bonsai and think, “this is something I could really get into!” Now what?

Anyone who practices bonsai for long will be able to tell you this art form involves a lifetime (or more) of learning. As a new bonsai enthusiast you can’t learn it all at once, and there is a world (and a world wide web) full of information out there, so where should you begin? Below are just a few of my favorites and recommendations to build your beginning bonsai knowledge including:

  • Books and magazines
  • Websites and blogs
  • Videos
  • Clubs

When I provide a list, I will put them in an order that seems most accessible to beginners at top, and getting more advanced as you move down the list.

Books and Magazines

I don’t actually want to recommend a specific bonsai book, but would recommend that anyone new to the art form find a few bonsai books or magazines that you can explore and hold in your hand. Magazines will tend to have topical articles but lots of great images, and most bonsai books will cover many of the standard topics any bonsai artist should become familiar with. Things like bonsai design, bonsai sizes and styles, and the basics of repotting, pruning, and wiring.

Look for print materials with lots of great images and diagrams that you can study, but be warned! Anything that is just a couple decades old will have some outdated information! Books by the most respected bonsai artists of the 1960s, 70s, and 80s will almost certainly recommend some practices that no bonsai professional worth his salt would do today. The science keeps improving, information is more accessible than it used to be, and we know better now. If you want to gain the science and horticulture information from print material, make sure what you are reading has been published in the last decade or so.

The latest edition of the Journal of the American Bonsai Society, the first bonsai book I ever bought, and the most recent.

Websites and Blogs

In addition to recently published books, you can find more recent content on a variety of websites and blogs. A few that I recommend checking out are…

All of these guys really know what they are taking about, but you have to beware with online content as well! Any dummy with a phone, including me, can have a bonsai blog. When it really matters, check your information against multiple trusted sources!

Videos

You can find an abundance of bonsai videos online as well. These range from quick demos to deep learning videos. Many are available for free, and when you are ready to go deeper, there is a growing list of video-based online bonsai courses you can choose to pay for. Some great video channels to get you started are:

Clubs

I would be remiss if I didn’t suggest that a beginner seek out a bonsai club in your area. I spent decades learning and practicing on my own, and I can honestly say my learning, and my trees improved dramatically when I joined a club. Learning from books, blogs and videos can continue your wholelife, but it’s never more effective than learning in person with others!